Sir Alec Jeffreys is made a Companion of Honour

The Order of the Companions of Honour was founded by George V in 1917 to recognise services of national importance and is a special award granted to those who have made a major contribution to the arts, science, medicine, or government lasting over a long period of time. The members, of which there are 65 at any one time, currently include actress Dame Maggie Smith, Lord Coe, Stephen Hawking, John Major and Desmond Tutu.

Prof Michael Eddleston of the University of Edinburgh (and a former Fellow of the Lister Institute) is part of a consortium that has sought to remedy this, and has recently published the results of a comprehensive study on pesticide container use by citizens in rural Sri Lanka. The paper was published in the Lancet, and is entitled Effectiveness of household lockable pesticide storage to reduce pesticide self-poisoning in rural Asia: a community-based, cluster-randomised controlled trial.

“Professor Sir Alec Jeffreys has been made a Companion of Honour in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours 2017.”